[Skip to Content]

MCA Judging Process and Awards

Who Are the Jurors?

Juror selection is based on years of experience in marketing, communications, and the design and building industry. The entries in each category will be evaluated by a group of jurors comprised of  SMPS  members that are Fellows of the Society or Certified Professional Services Marketers (CPSMs) that have volunteered to participate.  Feedback by the jurors is provided to all entrants, along with their scores in their entry portal.

The Call for Jurors will be emailed directly to all current CPSM and/or Fellows that are members of SMPS on February 5, 2021. Jury selection is based on first-come, first-serve.

Judging Criteria and Scoring

All entries will be evaluated using the following point system:
1. Marketing Objectives-20
2. Target Audience and Research /Planning-10
3. Content Messaging-15
4. Content–Deliverable -20
5. Results-20
6. Creative Brief-15
Total: 100 points

Point system subject to change. Awards will be given only if the entries meet all the necessary criteria.


Finalists will be recognized during the  SMPS MCA Awards Ceremony in conjunction with Build Business, the SMPS Annual Conference in August 2021.

Best of Show Award

Category winners will be considered for the Best of Show award. A panel of industry representatives will select the Best of Show. The winner will be announced during the SMPS MCA Awards Ceremony in Augsust 2021.

People’s Choice Award

All finalists are eligible for the People’s Choice Award. Winning MCA entries will be featured in the MCA Gallery.  The winner will be announced during the SMPS Awards Ceremony in August 2021.